John Steinbeck’s Dedication From East Of Eden

June 25, 2006

Dear Pat,
You came upon me carving some kind of little figure out of wood and you said, “Why don’t you make something for me?”
I asked you what you wanted, and you said, “A box.”
“What for?”
“To put things in.”
“What kind of things?”
“Whatever you have,” you said.
Well, here’s your box. Nearly everything I have is in it, and it is not full. Pain and excitement are in it, and feeling good or bad and evil thoughts and good thoughts- the pleasure of design and some despair and the indescribable joy of creation.
And on top of these are all the gratitude and love I have for you.
And still the box is not full.

JOHN

3 Responses to “John Steinbeck’s Dedication From East Of Eden”


  1. [...] subject, so decided to share it here. It got me thinking about all the great dedications (East of Eden by Steinbeck, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis; Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A. Milne; the Lemony [...]

  2. Martin Roed Says:

    English isn’t my firs language, but with an aim to improve my reading skills, I bought Steinbecks East of Eden, one of my favourite novels. For some obscure reason the dedication are left out in my norwegian version, so when I red it the first it was like finding gold. It is poetry.


  3. [...] I said, “I don’t think I can read another book again. A few years later, I used the dedication from that novel in my wedding vows. John stretches me in time and space, drawing me into the unfolding epic of [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

